It’s Finally Done! Mastering the ArcGIS Server JavaScript API Course Revision

Posted on March 21, 2011. Filed under: ArcGIS Server, GeoSpatial Training Services, JavaScript |

Well, it seemed to take forever but we’ve finally finished the course revision for our instructor guided, Internet based course Mastering the ArcGIS Server JavaScript API.  The current session of this course runs from March 21st – April 22nd.  We do still have 3 seats available for anyone that would like to join.

The next session of this course will run from June 6th – July 15th.  Register by April 15th to take advantage of our early registration price of $499.  The regular course price is $715 so this is a great deal.

The newly revised course includes nearly 1000 pages of lecture notes, and 36 exercises.

You can view the full course syllabus here.

You can view a sample lecture from the class here.

You can view a sample exercise here

And here is a second example exercise from the class

Although our courses run for a specific period of time all materials are self-paced and you have a full year of access to all course materials so you can go back and review and rework as necessary or simply take your time.  You also receive any course updates free of charge during that year.  And since the folks at ESRI keep putting out new versions of the API for JavaScript every few months this is a great perk!  Version 2.2 was just  released a couple weeks ago and these new concepts will be included in the course by the first summer session.

What have past students of this class said about the course?

“I wanted to let you know about the project that resulted from the ArcGIS JavaScript class I recently took with you. The site is http://www.eyesonpakistan.org, which I did through my job at AAAS and in cooperation with Amnesty International, USA. On the site, there is a section called interactive maps which utilizes a human rights database and maps I created. I used a variety of techniques from the course in the creation of the site and the things I learned were invaluable in its creation” .– Susan Wolfinbarger, American Association for the Advancement of Science

“Liked the combination of slides and exercises. I learn best by example – your approach lets me type in code, and if it doesn’t work I can check solution. More examples the better for me, everything I’ve ever learned about GIS programming came by starting with an example and modifying it. Thanks again, will likely take a course in the future.” — Joe Spollen, President, Geodatamodelers

“I’m impressed with the quality of the course and materials. I’m recommending your courses to my clients. I think they’re the best thing out there.” — Stephanie Stanfield, Fargeo

“I have enjoyed the class (Mastering the ArcGIS Server JavaScript API).  I like working at my own pace through the materials, between the other things I am working on.  The examples are clear, and I appreciate that I will be able to go back and refer to them during my development efforts.  The advanced dojo section seems like a deep topic, and I see myself referring back to that section and the other dojo resources as I am developing.  Finally, I am glad that I was able to get this training in a cost-effective manner.  It is difficult to get training classes up here in Alaska.  Often we have to get on a plane and leave the state.  As much as I enjoy travelling, it may not be the fiscally responsible thing to do in this era of strained budgets.  This training format seems to work, and I hope to participate in more of these in the future.” — Erick Johnson, GISP, GIS Programming/Analyst – Matanuska – Susitna Borough

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

